The shortlist for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize for Irish Album of the Year 2017 has been announced on RTÉ 2FM.

The prize was first presented by RTÉ in 2005 and is run in association with the Irish Music Rights Organisation and the Irish Recorded Music Association.

This year’s prize has also drawn support from Creative Ireland who will fund the flying in and attendance at the Award night in Vicar Street on Thursday March 8th.

Golden Discs are also involved as a partner and will host special displays across thir stores highlighting each of the nominees.

The shortlisted albums for 2017 are:

Come On Live Long – In The Still (self-released)
Marlene Enright – Placemats and Second Cuts (self-released)
Fangclub – Fangclub (Universal)
Lankum – Beneath the Earth and the Sky (Rough Trade)
James Vincent McMorrow – True Care (Faction Records)
New Jackson – From Night to Night (All City)
Otherkin – OK (Rubyworks)
Fionn Regan – The Meetings of the Waters (Abbey Records)
Ships – Precession (Ships Music)
Talos – Wild Alee (Feel Good Lost)

The judging panel is made up of twelve music industry professionals and media and will be chaired by Tony Clayton-Lea.

RTÉ 2FM is celebrating the announcement of the shortlist across its schedule throughout the day with 18 hours of Irish only music from 6 am this morning through to midnight.

As part of this Louise McSharry will present a two-hour special programme on this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2017 shortlist from 8-10pm this evening.

RTÉ 2FM will continue to mark the announcement of the shortlist this week and beyond through a mix of airplay of tracks from the shortlisted albums, interviews with this year’s shortlisted artists and live performances.

It’s an excellent example of how a right partner with a little imagination and thought can extend the lifespan of an award well beyond its actual presentation.

The shortlisted albums can be enjoyed in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website and on

The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 8th March 2018. As part of the partnership with RTÉ, the event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four-hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize TV programme, approximately one week later.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017 will be announced on Wednesday 31st January 2018.

A special event featuring exclusive performances from both Album of the Year and Song of the Year nominees will be held in Dublin’s Tramline venue that evening.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are available at all Ticketmaster outlets and at priced €28.00 including booking fee.

You can stay up-to-date with the latest RTÉ Choice Music Prize news by following @choiceprize, @rte2fm, @rte and @rte2 on Twitter and Facebook and @explorerte and @rte2fm on Instagram using #rtechoiceprize. For Snapchat updates, follow @rte2fm.